The hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam, from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. Elephant and jungle adventures, palaces and hill tribe communities, handicraft villages and Thai cultural performances, are just a few of the attractions in store. In a region with so much to offer, you might wish you could stay a little longer…
It is located on Sam Lan Road, this lovely temple dates from 1345 and is one of the focal points of Songkran festivities each April 13-15 when people bathe the revered Phra Phutthasihing Buddha image. The temple compound includes the lovely Lai Kham chapel with its exquisite woodcarvings and northern-style murals, and a magnificent scriptural repository with striking bas relief.
locals would say, You havent really gone to Chiang Mai unless youve been to Wat Phratat Doi Suthep. Truly, the place is the most important and famous Chiang Mai landmark. Built in 1383, this mountaintop temple has a chedi (pagoda) that houses holy Buddha relics. The gold-plated chedi lies in the middle of a square marble-tiled courtyard. The four corners of the chedi are adorned with parasols which represent royal regalia. The temples courtyard is lined by a cloister, which contains images and murals depicting Buddhas life. There are also two viharns situated in the middle of the east and west sides of the cloister. This temple is 15 kilometers from town and is 3,520 feet above sea level. It is the perfect place to get a birds eye view of the city. The temple can be reached via a steep Naga staircase comprised of 290 steps or railcars. The temple is open daily from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.
covering an area of 262 sq. km., this luxuriant park is home to more than 300 bird species and nearly 2,000 species of ferns and flowering plants. Some hiking trails in the park pass Hmong villages while others lead to a few small waterfalls where local people come to picnicking on weekends. Accommodations are available near the park headquarters. To get there, take Highway No. 1004, its only 16 kilometers drive northwest of Chiang Mai town. The Park has interesting attractions, which include:
the temple is near the Chiang Mai Stadium. It is noteworthy for an unusual bulbous pagoda. The structure is decorated with colorful porcelain chips and is believed to represent five Buddhist monk's alms bowls which symbolise five Lord Buddhas.
the temple is the site of an enormous pagoda, originally 280 feet high, and which was partially destroyed by an earthquake in 1545. At one time, Wat Chedi Luang housed the revered Emerald Buddha image now enshrined in Bangkok's Wat Phra Kaeo. One of Wat Chedi Luang's most striking architectural features is a magnificent Naga staircase adorns the chapel's front porch. The viharn houses a 9m bronze Buddha (made between 1438 and 1441). The huge tree not far from the entrance is believed to house the guardian spirit of the city, Lak Muang or Sao Inta Kin.
the ruins of this old temple are not that spectacular. However, a visit is definitely worthwhile. The place is very well situated within the forest. It was established in 1355-1385 by King Kuna as a meditation place for a famous monk. The compound has a rare statue of the starving Buddha next to the Chedi. There's also access to an open zoo in the back of the temple grounds. The little lake west of the temple contains numerous catfish and turtles.
this waterfall is located near the Chiang Mai Zoo and is a pleasant place for relaxation and picnics.
This village is a Hmong village situated on an asphalt road approximately 3 kilometers from Phu Phing Palace and approximately one hour from Chiang Mai. The village presents the typical lifestyle of the Hmong as well as a scenic view of Doi Inthanon
the city pillar was built when the founder of Chiang Mai, King Meng Rai, ruled the city in 1296. Located in front of Wat Chedi Luang and enshrined in a small Thai chapel, the pillar is made of log and kept underground. The Khao Inthakil or city pillar celebration is held annually in May.
the temple, situated in newly developed tourist destination, Wiang Kum Kam, was built in 1288 during the reign of King Meng Rai. Hundreds of years later, the temple was left abandoned until a Burmese tycoon renovated the temple in 1908. As a result, the temple has some Burmese influences in addition to its former Khmer style of which only some parts were rebuilt.
located in the valley of Doi Ang Khang, the station is designated for conducting experiments on possible temperate plants to be grown in Thailand. The experiment is aimed at promoting the cultivation of cash crops to replace hill tribes' opium plantations. Inside the station, there are beautiful landscaped flower gardens, a restaurant and plantations. Advanced contact is recommended for a group visit with lecturers available upon request.
Famous for its cool climate all year round, visitors can explore the Royal Angkhang Station Project and visit hill tribe villages to learn more about their daily life. To get there, take Highway No. 107 (Chiang Mai-Fang), turn left at an intersection around Km. 137 (Mae KhaMarket) and proceed for another 25 kilometers to Doi Ang Khang. As the route is filled with steep s-curves, an experienced driver and vehicles in good condition is required. The local truck (song taew) from Mae KhaMarket offers chartered service to the mountain.
Tham Chiang Dao is a charming cave located in Amphoe Chiang Dao. It is situated 72 kilometres from Chiang Mai town, turn left at the entrance route and proceed for 5 kilometres on an asphalt road. Climb a staircase with a zinc roof to reach the cave. The lovely cave greets visitors with various kinds of fish swimming in a stream in front of the cave. Touring in and around Tham Chiang Dao with a local guide is possible, by contacting local guides in front of the cave. A service fee is charged.
this national park which covers an area of 1,005 square kilometers is located on Doi Inthanon, Thailand's highest mountain which is 2,565 meters above sea level. Located between Mae Chaem andChom Thong, the park is comprised of the largest tract of upper mountain forest which ranges across Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, and ends in Northern Thailand. The mountain ranges gave birth to the main tributaries of the Ping river and formed the beautiful waterfalls, namely Siriphum, Wachirathan, Mae Pan, Mae Klang and Mae Ya. The moist and dense evergreen forest is abundant with lichens and wild orchids. The park is also a paradise for bird lovers. Visiting Doi Inthanon is possible throughout the year however, the best period for viewing the waterfalls is May through November while the best period for viewing wild flowers is December through February and for ornithologists is November through March
the farm is located approximately on Km. 3 along the Mae Rim-Samoeng route. It is home to various kinds of snakes native to Thailand. The farm, which also conducts snake breeding, provides 30-minute snake shows daily. These farms include Sai Nam Phung, Mountain Orchid, and Mae Ram Orchid, Each Provide opportunities for visitors admire these exotic year-round blooms. Certain orchid farms also have special butterfly enclosures where in exotic species can be seen in their natural environment.
this famous 8-tiered waterfall which is located at Km. 7 along the Mae Rim-Samoeng route is situated in a natural setting among towering trees and has a lovely breeze flowing throughout the year. It is an ideal recreational spot for both residents and visitors.
this botanical garden, which covers a mountainous area of 560 acres, is located around Km. 12 along the Mae Rim-Samoeng route. This international botanical garden with a fine collection of Thai and foreign plants exhibited according to species and climate was established in 1992 to honor Queen Sirikit. Visitors can drive around the area in order to see include the Tourist Information Center, the Thai Orchid Breeding Center, Herbs Museum and the Research Center. The garden is open daily from 8.30 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.